My summer+Healthy Tropical Pat Bingsu

pb3

Wow I can’t believe it’s the end of August!! This month has been absolutely crazy! I’ve been so busy travelling and spending time with my mom that the time just flew by! Now I’m hastily trying to pack, clean out my apartment, work, do end of contract stuff, finish up with last minute things, and not go crazy with feeling overwhelmed! I feel bad about not blogging for so long, and since I’ll be moving to Vancouver on Saturday, and jumping right into university on September 3rd, I know it’s going to be a while before I get another chance to blog.

So a little summary of my month:

I flew to Taipei, Taiwan on July 30th until the 4th of August. I stayed at hostels and explored all over the city, night and day markets and even made one day trip to a small picturesque mining town. I enjoyed all kinds of bizarre street foods (stinky tofu, skewered blood cakes and chicken butts might have been on the list) and had a fantastic time! It was a very last minute decision- I suddenly was given extra time off, and so I checked for cheap flights and found one for Taipei for about $400 return from Seoul for the next day. So it was unplanned but definitely worth it!

I flew back to Seoul 2 hours before my mom arrived, so that worked out perfectly! I can’t even express how wonderful it was to see my mom after a full year apart. We had the most wonderful time together. I showed her all around Seoul, took her for all kinds of Korean food and then we flew to Kuala Lumpur on August 9th.

We spent 4 days in KL, and that was definitely enough. Neither of us really enjoyed the city scene too much- it was really busy there! We saw most of the city sights and did a ton of walking. We made one day trip to a city called Malacca, which was lovely but so crazy busy it took us an hour and a half to get into the city!

After KL we flew to Kuching, and spent an amazing 8 days in the Borneo region. We took a Malaysian cooking class, a kayaking jungle tour, a daytrip and hike to see the rafflesia, the world’s largest flower, a trip to see the orangutans, tried out many restaurants and local dishes (nasi lamak was my favourite!! coconut rice served with an egg, crispy anchovies, nuts and a curried onion dish), a trip to the cultural village and the highlight of the trip, 2 days at Bako Island. Bako is a national park that is teeming with jungle wildlife. We had monkeys and bearded pigs right in the camp, actually, a macaque even broke into our cabin through the screen window and stole my mom’s orange one morning! We also saw the rare proboscis monkey- those ones with the long noses, silver leaf monkeys, poisonous green tree vipers, a flying lemur, scorpions, tarantulas, stick bugs.. and many more jungle creatures! I could not have asked for a better holiday!

My mom and I returned to Seoul on the 22nd and we spent our last weekend together enjoying more sights and having dinners with friends. I sadly sent my mom off on Monday the 26th and still can’t believe its over already. I have only a couple more days in Korea and still so much to do!

Okay now that my little update is over, I am going to share a recipe that I was going to post in July but due to life getting all hectic, hasn’t happened yet!

pbThis is a dish that I’ve seen both in Korea and in Taiwan. It’s made from a base of shaved ice and is topped with all kinds of toppings- usually sweetened beans, fruit and some kind of milk topping.

It’s really refreshing in the hot humid weather over here in Asia, and I love how you can easily swap ingredients to suit what you have on hand.

bs Healthy Tropical Pat Bingsu (Red Beans+Fruit on Ice)

Ingredients:

2 cups Ice
3 drops Coconut stevia (optional)
1 cup Red beans (soaked for 24hours and drained)
1/2 tsp Sea salt
2-3 tbsp Erythritol, or sugar substitute
1 tsp Vanilla
1/4 cup fresh Pineapple
1 Kiwi
2 Tbsp Toasted Coconut shavings
1/4 C Coconut cream (or yogurt or similar dairy product)

Method:

  1. Blend ice with stevia. Leave in freezer while preparing beans.
  2. Melt erythritol over med heat in a saucepan of frying pan. Add vanilla and salt. Add soaked beans and cook for 10-15 minutes until crispy.
  3. Cut fruit and arrange over ice.
  4. Top with beans.
  5. Add coconut cream and shavings.
  6. Enjoy!

Serves 1 but its a dish meant for sharing so find someone to enjoy it with!

For more detailed photos of the bean prep and info on erythritol see this post.

pb2You can easily use whatever fruit you have on hand, or whatever your preferences are! pb4

I hope you’ve had as wonderful of a summer as I, and look forward to writing my next post from Canada!!! Yay!!!!!

pb5

One thought on “My summer+Healthy Tropical Pat Bingsu

Leave a Reply

