Enormous Kabocha Protein Shake

IMG_1914If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you may have noticed the lack of shake recipes and the plethora of protein cake recipes. (Check here and here for some awesome ones.) And that is because I always like to eat my calories, rather than drink them. Personally, if I drink a protein shake that is just powder mixed with water, I’m not going to feel satiated at all. There is nothing satisfying about that either!

However, throw in a whole bunch of ice cubes, add a couple secret ingredients, and voila! You have yourself a super filling, super satisfying, creamy delicious protein shake masterpiece what will make you feel full, satisfied and super happy! Or at least that’s how I feel. And for only a few extra calories. 

IMG_1904Also, in Korea, its super humid. I generally train in the afternoons, and this is the perfect refresher for when I get home. It cools me down, fills me up, and replenishes my glycogen stores. (ha! I don’t believe that btw. However, many fitness professionals, like one of my favourites, Layne Norton, recommend having a meal of carbs plus protein post workout to maximize anabolic response. Click here for an article.)

Oh and I know in these pictures, I have a tiny portion on display. Believe me, this is NOT the portion you get. However, I only have one size of glass cup, and glass is much more photogenic that the ugly plastic e-mart special I also have in my cabinet. What can I say, I’m leaving Korea in 5 weeks- why buy things you don’t need? And now to add a really ugly picture that reveals how much you actually get:

IMG_1901

The real serving size of the recipe. Ignore the ugliness…

Aha! I told you- its ginormous!!!!!

Okay so a word on the secret ingredients. If you don’t like adding gums to your food then don’t do it. I however, have no problem adding less than a tsp of gums, which are just fiber anyways, to take my smoothies to the next level. If you omit the gums, your shake will not have the same consistency but will have the same delicious flavour- so that’s all up to you!

IMG_1911Okay, on with the recipe.

Enormous Kabocha Protein Shake

Ingredients:

1/2 scoop (16grams) whey protein
1/2 scoop (16grams) casein protein

*Note, this works best with casein protein, which has a much thicker consistency than whey. You can use all casein as well for maximum creaminess, or a mixture of the two as I have done. I used Dymatize Casein in Cinnamon roll and Cytosport Whey Isolate in Cookies and Cream in this post.

200 grams (1 cup) kabocha, winter squash, pumpkin or sweet potato, cooked (see post here)
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp guar gum
1/4 tsp xanthan gum
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp stevia or sugar equivalent

1/3 cup tea (or water)
2 trays of ice cubes (or ice tea cubes)

Chocolate variation:
Use chocolate protein powder
Add 1 tbsp cocoa powder

Mint variation:
Add peppermint extract, or use peppermint tea
Can do chocolate mint as well

Banana cream:
Use 100 grams of banana
And change to 100 grams of kabocha

Will it work with only guar gum? Yes. But tastes better with both. For a great post about gums, check out Smoothie Girl Eats Too.

Method:

  1. Add salt and water or tea to food processor or powerful blender.
  2. Add 1 tray of ice cubes and kabocha squash. Blitz.
  3. Add protein powders and other dry ingredients. Blitz.
  4. Add remaining ice cubes and pulse until blended. If you still have big chunks of ice, try adding more water or tea.
  5. Pour into 2-3 serving dishes, store in freezer while eating one with a spoon!

Nutrition info:

smoothie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

for 1 serving: 250 calories, 34 grams carbs, 2 grams fat, 26 grams protein, 7 grams fiber.

I know some people are wary of salt- but salt is not bad for you! Especially in summer, when we are sweating lots, and drinking plenty of fluids, we need to add in salt to our diet. I have had major salt cravings lately, so I’ve been listening to them and increasing my salt intake. I salt almost everything now! I know not everyone can have excess salt though (like my dad) so do what works for you.

IMG_1906This is my favourite meal right now!

IMG_1910I’m seriously in love. And as you noticed- tons of variations!

IMG_1913Hope you enjoy!

What is your favourite protein shake or smoothie recipe?

Also, did you check out the post I made on Kimchibytes last week? It was insanely popular and received thousands of views and lots of comments. It was about my thoughts on being skinny in Korea, and also offered some of the tips on eating healthier I’ve picked up while living here. Check it out here, the Skinny on Koreans.

3 thoughts on “Enormous Kabocha Protein Shake

Leave a Reply

