Gmarket Finds!

As I mentioned before, I LOVE Gmarket! I was never at all an internet shopper before I came to Korea, but wow- now I definitely am! I would even say that Gmarket is one of my favourite things about Korea, haha!

This page will list products I’ve found on Gmarket that I use, or I think are a good price.

Chicken– when I was preparing for my bodybuilding competitions, there were periods where chicken was the only protein I could eat. (Miserable time of my life, yes haha). So I would purchase frozen chicken breast on Gmarket to save money. You can buy different amounts- 10kg is usually about 55,000 won (so cheap!) but you need to have space in your freezer. They also have 5kg ,3kg, and 1kg amounts available. I would usually just browse through the chicken category, looking at the pictures until I found what I wanted.  Tip: if you scroll to the bottom of a seller’s product page, you can see actual pictures from people who’ve purchased it. This can be really helpful to make sure you are choosing the right product. Also- buy the vaccuum sealed packs! This saves space and they stay fresher longer! Again, look at the pictures.

Frozen Vegetables– okay- this is kind of a big deal. AFTER 15 MONTHS IN KOREA, I FINALLY FOUND FROZEN KABOCHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Click here for a recipe) You have no idea how excited this makes me. AND CAULIFLOWER!!!!!! I have not bought cauliflower ONCE in Korea- because it was so damned expensive- but lo and behold- this site has not only broccoli, cauliflower, kabocha, but also many other veggies!!! This is a HUGE time saver! And so cheap! Tip: buy more than one product because shipping is 3,000 won per shipment. 컬리플라워1kg- cauliflower, 브로콜리1kg- broccoli, 단호박(유피)2kg- kabocha squash (it Korean it is called 단호박 “tan hobak” or “sweet pumpkin”). This find actually changed my life. ** Update** I had some problems ordering from the seller I mentioned above. So, you can take your chances OR I found another seller here. Yay! Always a plus side right??

Kabocha Powderwhat is this!? Kabocha in a powder or flour form!? I am still experimenting with this product but this is where I found it. (단호박분말 in Korean, means “sweet pumpkin powder”.

Coconut Products- Coconut Cream Concentrate (or 코코넛크림파우다 see my post here) Coconut Flakes (or 코코넛롱슬라이스) and Dessicated Coconut (코코넛분말). Tip: Make your own coconut butter by grinding flakes in a food processor!

Yogurt– (플레인요구르트) for the longest time, I didn’t buy yogurt in Korea. I found that it was really expensive for the tiny serving, and usually full of sugar. I made my own for a little while (just google “how to make homemade yogurt”) but it didn’t really save me money unless I made a pretty big batch, which I usually couldn’t finish before it went bad. Imsil Yogurt (플레인요구르트) is an excellent product and has 80 cal for a 100gr /100ml serving. Denmark Yogurt (덴마크 농후발효유) which you can also buy in Grocery stores is 65 cals per container, which I think are 85g.

7 thoughts on “Gmarket Finds!

      • To clarify: when you say “buy more than one product because shipping is 3,000 won per shipping,” do you mean more than one of the SAME product? I’ve got only four items in my cart, and the shipping is already 8,000 won. It seems to be adding all the shipping fees together, which would mean there’s no advantage to buying more than one product . . . hmm.

      • I’m sorry Michelle I thought I was only charged one shipping fee.. But it only works in items from the same vendor. Did you select everything from the same page or did u start orders separately?

      • Even in ordering two of the same item, from the same page, it’s charging me double shipping! For the cauliflower, that means shipping is almost as much as the product itself! Plus, it won’t let me pay . . . I’ll ask a Korean friend to help. 🙂 Online shopping is complicated. You are brave. 😛

      • Eee yes ask a friend! It’s really frustrating ordering from gmarket sometimes!! And actually I just had a problem with this company too- they didn’t send me 1 bag that I paid for, so I’ll have to ask my coteacher for help on Monday. Not impressed that’s for sure.

  1. Pingback: Cauliflower Bread Two Ways | A blog about all things sweet, healthy + delicious

Leave a Reply

